User & Resource Management

User Permissions

In this article, we explore user permissions across Smartling functions for the six user roles in the platform, as well as how to configure accessibility and permissions for users.

The grid below defines the default permissions of each user role;

  1. Account Owner
  2. Project Manager
  3. Requester
  4. Agency Account Owner
  5. Translation Resource Manager (TRM)
  6. Translation Resource (TR)

Smartling function 

Account Owner Project Manager Requester Agency Owner TRM TR
Global Search x x        
Strings View x x from within the Job only      
Create a project x          
Clone a project x x        
Archive a project x x        
Rename a project x x        
Create a Linguistic Package x x        
Add a language x x        
Delete a language x x        
Upload files x x via Request Translation portal only      
Update files x x from within the Job only      
Delete files x x from within the Job only      
Download translated files x x from within the Job only

 x,

Business Documents

   
Add file instructions x x x      
Add string instructions x x x      
Upload image context x x via the Strings View of the Job only      
Create a Job x x x      
Authorize content x x exclude Strings only      
Create Job automation rules x x        
Smartmatch leverage x x        
Edit Job due dates x x x x    
Edit workflow task due dates x x   x    
Cost estimate for a Job x x x x x x
Download Job estimates x x x x    
Exclude content from translation x x x      

Add/Download Job Attachments

 

x x x from within the CAT Tool from within the CAT Tool from within the CAT Tool
Edit Character Limits x x x from within the CAT Tool from within the CAT Tool from within the CAT Tool
Reject translations x x       x, Editor
Tag content x x x x x  
Move content between workflows x x        
Assign content x x   x x  
View content history x x x x x x
Managing issues x x from within the Job only x x x
Issue Notifications x x    x
(see here)
x
(see here)
x
(see here)
Issues Report x x from within the Job only      
Comment on issues x x x x x x
Enter/edit translations x x   x x x
Submit content to next step x x   x x x
Search and filter content x x access the Strings View from within the Job only x x x
Manage Style Guide x x        
Manage Glossary x x        
Export Glossary x x   x x  
Search Glossary x x   x x x
Import Glossary x x        
Add Glossary terms x x   x x x
Manage Quality Checks x x        
Manage Linguistic Packages x x        
Manage translation memory and leverage x x        
Add users  x  x, all but Account Owner users    x  
Remove users x x, but only PM, TR or TRM users   x, but only TR and TRM users    
Manage workflow assignments for an agency x x        
Customize workflow x          
Create workflow x x        
Copy workflow x x        
Edit default workflow x x        
Manage API keys x x        
Site traffic* x x        
Tracked URLs* x x        
Processed words x x        
Word counts x x   x x  
Words under Management x x        
Content velocity x x        
Content changes x x        
Download Job activity report x x        

Giving Users Access to Projects

Once the Account Owner creates a project, they must then give Project Managers and Requesters on the account access to the project. Project Managers can follow these steps as well to give other Project Managers and Requesters access to the projects the Project Manager already has access to.

  • Go to Account Settings > Team
  • Click the user tile
  • Under Details, click the Projects field to see a full list of your projects.
  • Select the project name or type the project name and then select from the list

Configurable Permissions

Account Owners and Project Managers can configure access to Linguistic Assets for Agency Account Owners (AAO), Translation Resource Managers (TRM), and Translation Resources (TR) from the Permissions tab in the User's Detail page.

If you are working with a Language Service Provider/Vendor, it is recommended that you grant your Agency Account Owners access to an added permission, and then have them grant the same access to their Translation Resources.

Screen_Shot_2019-06-10_at_4.40.22_PM.png

There are four types of Linguistic Asset permissions:

  • Glossary: For the management of glossaries and glossary content.
  • Issues Report: For Issue management.
  • Leverage: For the management of leverage configurations.
  • Style Guide: For the management of Style Guides.
  • Translation Memory: For the management of Translation Memories and content in a TM.

Screenshot_2020-10-22_at_14.39.38.png

Skip ahead to learn more about permission details.

Add Permissions for Translation Users

To Add Permission from the permission types listed above:

  1. Go to Account Settings > Team.
    • For Translation Resource or Translation Resource Manager users, go to People and click a translation user tile, and click the Permissions tab.
    • For Agency Account Owner users, go to Agencies, click the Permissions tab, choose the Agency Account Owner user from the Permissions dropdown
  2. Click Add Permission.
  3. From the dialog, choose a permission type from the list, eg Glossary
  4. [Optional] Choose the assets/projects the user should have added permissions to, eg Glossary name (skip to select all assets)
  5. Choose permissions from the Available Permissions section to grant to a user by using the checkboxes.
  6. Click Add.

The permission will be added to the User's Permission page.

If you decide to not choose any assets/projects from the list, you will have given the user permission for all of the assets/projects in the list for the permissions type.

Screenshot_2020-10-22_at_18.06.39.png

Remove Permissions

To Remove Permissions from a user:

  1. Go to Account Settings > Team.
    • For Translation Resource or Translation Resource Manager users, go to People and click a translation user tile, and click the Permissions tab.
    • For Agency Account Owner users, go to Agencies, click the Permissions tab, choose the Agency Account Owner user from the Permissions dropdown
  2. On the Permissions page, select the check box next to the permission you wish to remove. Use the check box at the top left of the table to select all permissions.
  3. Click Remove Permission.

This will remove all of the permissions listed from the permission type.

If there is more than one permission listed in the permission type, you cannot remove some of the permissions listed. You will have to re-add desired permissions for that type.

Permission Details

Glossary Permissions

  • Create and Edit Terms: Add/Edit/Remove terms in an existing Glossary and Blocklist via the dashboard (under Assets), or via the CAT Tool by highlighting any term in the source or target and click Add Glossary Term from the shortcuts bar.
  • Export Glossary: Export a Glossary from the Smartling dashboard to an Excel, CSV, or TBX file.
  • Update existing Glossary from file: Import a file to bulk-update an existing Glossary (Export Glossary should be permitted alongside this permission).

Issues Report

  • View Issues Report: Give access to view/comment/open/resolve Issues for all Jobs in the permitted project(s)

Leverage Permissions

  • Edit Leverage: Edit all the details of a leverage configuration, including the name, reordering leverage priority, adding a leverage source to the configuration, and removing the leverage source from the configuration. The languages and penalty can be edited by removing the existing leverage source and re-adding it.
  • Edit Leverage source: Edit the details of each leverage entry, including SmartMatch Settings and Penalty.

Style Guide Permissions

  • Edit Style Guide content: Edit all of the details of the permitted Style Guide.

Translation Memory Permissions

  • Export a Translation Memory: Export a TM to a TMX file.
  • Edit translations: Edit the translation content of a TM.
  • Browse a Translation Memory: Search and filter the source and translation content of a TM, as well as the activity of a Translation Unit.
  • Import translations: Import a TMX file into an existing TM.
  • Delete strings: Delete content from a TM.
  • Move strings: Move content to a new TM (if the user has access to another TM).

Was this article helpful?