Jobs Dashboard for Account Owners & Project Managers
This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers.
Account Owner and Project Manager users have access to two Jobs Dashboards in Smartling - the account-level Jobs dashboard and the project-level Jobs Dashboard.
The account-level Jobs Dashboard gives you an overview of all Jobs in the account, while the project-level Jobs Dashboard gives you the same overview of all Jobs, only this view is prefiltered to a chosen project. Both are designed to give you an overview of the activity and progress of your translation tasks and include functions that allow you to take action on a job while remaining high-level in the dashboard.
Account Owner and Project Manager users can create a Job on both dashboards by clicking Request Translation.
The main differences between the two Jobs Dashboards are the location of each in the platform, user permission, and pre-filters.
Jobs Dashboard: Account-level
The account-level Jobs Dashboard is located within Jobs, between Projects and Reports, seen on the top panel of the platform.
As an Account Owner user, here you will find an overview of all jobs in your account.
As a Project Manager user, here you will find an overview of all jobs in all projects you have access to in your account.
Jobs Dashboard: Project-level
The project-level Jobs Dashboard is located from a chosen Project, within the Jobs tab, between the Summary and Files tabs.
Both Account Owner users and Project Manager users have the same view of the project-level dashboard, providing that the Project Manager user has access to the project.
Jobs Dashboard Overview
The view and functions of both the account-level Jobs Dashboard and project-level Jobs Dashboard are the same, with the exception that the project-level Jobs Dashboard is prefiltered for a chosen project.
The center-panel columns of the Jobs Dashboard will include the Job Name with associated project name underneath, a color-coded progress bar, the total word count of the entire job, the due date, and the date the job was created.
Beneath Jobs Name, you'll find a hyperlinked job name that will bring you directly to the Job view. Under the job name, you'll see it's associated project name, which is also hyperlinked to bring you to the Summary tab of that Project's Dashboard. If viewing from the project-level Jobs Dashboard, the hyperlinked project names will all be the same.
The flag icon indicates the number of Issues there are open on the job. It is also hyperlinked to bring you to the Issues Report for that job.
The paperclip indicated the number of Job Attachments that have been uploaded with the job. Clicking it will bring you to the Job Attachments overview for that job where you can view the attachments uploaded, upload another attachment, and delete any attachments by clicking the Actions button on the right.
Beneath Progress, you'll see the status of the job - Awaiting Authorization, In Progress, Completed, or Cancelled. When the job is In Progress, you'll see a color-coded progress bar for the various steps in that job's workflow. To view a breakdown of the total word count in each of those steps, simply hover over the progress bar. This is the total word count for all languages in the job.
Beneath Total Words, you'll find the total word count for the job. This is the total word count for all languages in the job.
Beneath Due Date, you'll see the deadline for the job in the format Month Date, Year, Time 12hr. See Change Job Due Dates for more on adding deadlines to each step of the workflow.
Beneath Create On, you'll see the timestamp of when the job was created in the format Month Date, Year, Time 12hr. This is the timestamp of when the translation was requested, not necessary when the job was authorized.
You can change the order in which the jobs are listed in the Jobs Dashboard by using the Sort by function, which will allow you to sort the Jobs Dashboard view by Created Date (default), Due Date, Project, or Status.
Actions from the account-level Jobs Dashboard
Under the Gear icon you'll find the blue Request Translation button, which allows you to create a new job by uploading a file. [article]
When the job is Awaiting Authorization, click the blue Authorize button to progress the translation task.
When the job is In Progress, click the 3 dots to get a Fuzzy Estimate on the job, Rename the job, or Cancel the job. If you choose to cancel the job, the content will be removed from the translation queue. Any completed translations will be unassigned from the job. Any incompleted translations will no longer be available.
When the job is Cancelled, click the blue Delete button to remove the job metadata from the dashboard. When a job is either cancelled or deleted, the associated file can still be found in the Files tab of the project.
Search and Filters
You can search for jobs using the Smartling Preset Searches or by the range of filters available. Click Reset to clear your search to start again.
- All Jobs: By default, you will see any job that has been Created Today, Created in the Last 7 Days, Created in the Last 30 Days, and Created Earlier. If there are more than 500 jobs returned, there will be no grouping, and the default sorting would still be by Created Date.
- Active Jobs: When accessing the Jobs page for the first time, by default, you will see all active jobs. This includes jobs that are Awaiting Authorization, In Progress, and Recently Completed. (Recently completed jobs refer to those that have been completed within the last 7 days.)
- At Risk: Smartling has estimated the job will be completed between 6 and 0 hours of the due date.
- Due Soon: Upcoming jobs that are due within the next 48 hours.
- Late Jobs: Jobs that are past the due date.
- Created by Me: The jobs you created.
- Recently Created: Jobs that have been created in the last 7 days.
Saved Searches in the Jobs Dashboard
When searching for Jobs using a filter-set in the account-level or project-level Jobs Dashboard, you may want to save the filter-set for future use. You can now save your filter preset in the Jobs Dashboard by clicking the Save Search button on the toolbar. You will then be prompted to name and save your search and this will appear under Saved Searches, found beneath Preset Searches.
Saved Searches are unique to the user who created them. However, the filters applied are in the URL, so you are able to share the link with another Smartling Account Owner or Project Manager user.
To rename or delete your Saved Search, simply hover over the Saved Search and selecting the pencil icon that appears.
This will open the Edit Saved Search dialog where you can edit the name and click Save, or remove the saved search by clicking Delete.
Saved Searches names have a 23 character limit.