User & Resource Management

Configurable Permissions for Agencies and Linguists

Account Owners and Project Managers can invite new linguistic users to the account, and customize their permissions beyond their default user permissions.

The new user must have accepted the invite and activated their Smartling account before permissions can be configured.

Configurable permissions are found in the Permissions tab within the user's tile.

If you are working with a Language Service Provider/Vendor, it is recommended that you grant your Agency Account Owners access to an added permission, and then have them grant the same access to their team of Translation Resources.

Screen_Shot_2019-06-10_at_4.40.22_PM.png

This article covers:

Types of Permissions

There are five types of permissions:

  1. Glossary: For the management of glossaries and glossary content.
  2. Leverage: For the management of leverage configurations.
  3. Style Guide: For the management of Style Guides.
  4. Translation Memory: For the management of Translation Memories and content in a TM.
  5. Quality Check Profile: For the management of Quality Check with a selected Quality Check Profile.

Skip ahead to learn more about permission details.

Screenshot_2022-04-01_at_17.13.04.png

"Jobs" permissions have no impact on Agencies or Linguistic users and should be ignored.

Although it is listed in the dropdown, the Issues Report permission is granted to all users by default, so you do not have to add this permission.

Add Permissions for Translation Users

To Add Permission from the permission types listed above:

  1. Go to Account Settings > Team.
    • For Translation Resource or Translation Resource Manager users, go to People and click a translation user tile, and click the Permissions tab.
    • For Agency Account Owner users, go to Agencies, click the Permissions tab, choose the Agency Account Owner user from the Permissions dropdown
  2. Click Add Permission.
  3. From the dialog, choose a permission type from the list, e.g. Glossary
  4. [Optional] Choose the assets/projects the user should have added permissions to, e.g. Glossary name (skip or leave blank to select all assets, as seen in the screenshot below)
  5. Choose permissions from the Available Permissions section to grant to a user by using the checkboxes.
  6. Click Add.

The permission will be added to the User's Permission page.

If you decide not to choose any assets/projects from the list, you will have given the user permission for all the assets/projects in the list for the permissions type.

Screenshot_2021-02-03_at_11.31.13.png

Remove Permissions

To Remove Permissions from a user:

  1. Go to Account Settings > Team.
    • For Translation Resource or Translation Resource Manager users, go to People and click a translation user tile, and click the Permissions tab.
    • For Agency Account Owner users, go to Agencies, click the Permissions tab, choose the Agency Account Owner user from the Permissions dropdown
  2. On the Permissions page, select the checkbox next to the permission you wish to remove. Use the checkbox at the top left of the table to select all permissions.
  3. Click Remove Permission.

This will remove all the permissions listed from the permission type.

If there is more than one permission listed in the permission type, you cannot remove some permissions listed. You will have to re-add desired permissions for that type.

Permission Details

Below are details of the following permissions:

  1. Glossary Permissions
  2. Leverage Permissions
  3. Style Guide Permissions
  4. Translation Memory Permissions
  5. Quality Check Profile Permissions

Glossary Permissions

  • Add, Edit, Remove Terms: Create and edit terms in an existing Glossary and Blocklist via the dashboard (under Assets), or via the CAT Tool by highlighting any term in the source or target and clicking Add Glossary Term from the shortcuts bar.
  • View Glossary: With this permission, users have access to the Glossary and associated Blocklists on the dashboard (under the Assets dropdown). From here, they can view any New Glossary entry images.
  • Update existing Glossary from file: Import a file to bulk-update an existing Glossary and associated Blocklists (Export Glossary should be permitted alongside this permission).

Leverage Permissions

  • Edit Leverage: Edit all the details of a leverage configuration, including the name, reordering leverage priority, adding a leverage source to the configuration, and removing the leverage source from the configuration. The languages and penalty can be edited by removing the existing leverage source and re-adding it.
  • Edit Leverage source: Edit the details of each leverage entry, including SmartMatch Settings and Penalty.

Style Guide Permissions

  • Edit Style Guide content: Edit all the details of the permitted Style Guide.

Translation Memory Permissions

  • Export a Translation Memory: Export a TM to a TMX file.
  • Edit translations: Edit the translation content of a TM.
  • Browse a Translation Memory: Search and filter the source and translation content of a TM, as well as the activity of a Translation Unit.
  • Import translations: Import a TMX file into an existing TM.
  • Delete strings: Delete content from a TM.
  • Move strings: Move content to a new TM (if the user has access to another TM).

Quality Check Profile Permissions

  • Add/Edit/Delete Custom Quality Checks: Configure types of Quality Checks, including Custom Quality Checks
  • Edit Quality Check Profile settings (except Custom Quality Checks): Edit the settings of all quality check types, except Custom Quality Checks
  • View All Quality Check Profile Settings: "Read only" access to view all settings. We recommend enabling this permission at a minimum, so linguists and agencies can view the quality checks their translations are assessed against. 

Was this article helpful?