Projects & Linguistic Packages

How to Create, Edit & Delete a Linguistic Package

A linguistic package is a collection of language pairs and the following linguistic assets, that can then be easily applied to any Smartling project:

This article will walk you through how to

  1. How to Create a Linguistic Package
  2. How to Change the Linguistic Assets within a Linguistic Package 
  3. How to Delete a Linguistic Package

How to Create a Linguistic Package

  1. Do one of the following: 
    • In the New Experience, go to Account Settings > Linguistic Assets and click Linguistic Packages
    • In the Classic Experience, go to Assets > Linguistic Packages.
  2. Click Create Package to create a new linguistic package.

Details

  • Package Name: Name of your linguistic package.
  • Source Language: The language of the source content that this linguistic package will be applied to. You may only specify one source language per package.
  • Target Language(s): The languages for the translated content that this linguistic package will be applied to.
  • Package Description: Optional description of your Linguistic Package
  • Click Next

Required Assets

  • Leverage Configuration: This configuration will determine what translation memories untranslated content will be leveraged from, or read from.
    • This means that the translations from these databases will be re-used for your project.
    • It is important to note that your leverage configuration is also where you can enable, configure or disable SmartMatch for each of the translation memories that your project will read from.
    • Only one leverage configuration may be selected.
    • Choose from an existing configuration or create a new one.
  • Translation Memory: Selecting a translation memory will determine to where your translations will be saved, or write to.
    • All translations saved by a linguist working in your project will be stored here, and it will grow over time.
    • It is important to note that you can set up a penalty to automatically lower the percentage of any matches from this translation memory, so your linguists will pay closer attention to them. 
    • Only one translation memory may be selected.
    • Choose from an existing translation memory or create a new one.
  • Glossaries: Selecting glossaries will determine which terms are shown to Translators when translating content. One or more glossaries may be selected. Choose from an existing glossary or create a new one.
  • Translation Quality Checks: Choose one translation quality check profile to determine how your translations will be checked for errors and inconsistencies.
  • Click Next

Optional Assets

  • Style Guide: Select an existing style guide to assign to one or more target languages in your linguistic package.
  • (Optional) Click Add Another Style Guide to assign another style guide to another selections of target language(s) in your linguistic package.
  • Click Next

Review

  • Review settings and click Edit on any section to make changes.
  • Click Create Package to save your linguistic package.

How to Change the Linguistic Assets within a Linguistic Package 

If you need to change the Linguistic Assets you originally bundled up in a Linguistic Package (i.e. pick a different Glossary), do the following:

  1. In the New Experience, go to Account Settings > Linguistic Assets and click Linguistic Packages
  2. From the Actions column, click the pencil icon to edit an existing linguistic package.

How to Delete a Linguistic Package 

  1. Do one of the following: 
    • In the New Experience, click Account Settings > Linguistic Assets
    • In the Classic Experience, click Assets > Linguistic Packages.
  2. From the Actions column, click the bin icon for the linguistic package you would like to remove.

If the package is not assigned to a project, click Delete Package to remove the package, or Cancel to close the dialog.

If the Package is assigned to a Project, select from one of the available packages for re-assignment. Click Apply Changes to remove the package, or Cancel to close the dialog box.

Was this article helpful?