Translation Workflow

Create & Configure a Transcreation Workflow

In Smartling, transcreation happens in the Translation Tool for a Job in a transcreation workflow.

Your Transcreation Workflow can contain one Transcreation step and up to two Transcreation Review steps. By default, when you create a Translation Workflow, you will have a Transcreation step followed by a Transcreation Review step.

It is possible to delete the Transcreation Review step and just have a one-step Transcreation Workflow. You can also make your Transcreation Workflow a Dynamic Workflow by adding a Decision step before the Transcreation Step.

How to Create a Transcreation Workflow

  • Go to the Project you want transcreations to happen in
    • If you want transcreation to be saved in its own translation memory, create a Project for transcreation first
  • Click the Gear icon > Project Settings 
  • In the Project Settings, click Workflows
  • Click Create Workflow
  • Choose to create and account-level or project-level Transcreation Workflows
  • Under Workflow Template, select Transcreation
  • The Transcreation template will automatically populate a workflow with a Transcreation and Transcreation Review step
    • If the Transcreation Review step is unnecessary, delete it

Screenshot_2022-05-10_at_16.12.32.png

How to Configure a Transcreation Workflow

Manage Step

On your Transcreation workflow, click the downward arrow on any existing step to configure the following workflow step settings:

Transcreation Step Settings

Enable content assignment

  • On: all content must be assigned before resources can work on it
    • Must be enabled to allow claiming (next setting)
  • Off: all content will be available for all resources to use.

Allow claiming by linguists

  • On: Translation Resource users will view and claim translation tasks in Available to Accept
    • Recommended if content assignment is off and multiple users work on the same locale in the same step.
  • Off: translation resource users will view all available work in Current Work (recommended if you prefer to assign linguists to tasks)

Allow offline work: Users can export an .xliff file of assigned content, part of Translation Memory and project Glossary.

Pre-publish strings

  • Never: strings are only published when they are submitted from the final step in the workflow.
  • On save: strings are published when the user saves the string.
  • On submit: strings are published when the users submit the translations.

Transcreation Review Step Settings

Users can revise content

  • On: allows users to type and make edits to translations in the translation field in the Transcreation Tool
  • Off: locks the translation field for editing. Linguistic users cannot type or make edits to translations. Users can insert translations from the Language Resource panel, but cannot edit. This is useful if you want resources to review translations but not edit.

Automatically submit edits by users

  • On: submits translations to the next step once the user saves the string, or clicks Saves All.
  • Off: users must click Submit to submit the translations to the next step. It is recommended that users click Save All before clicking Submit.

Users can reject content to another step

  • On: allows users to select a step to send rejected content to (excludes decision steps). By default, rejected content is sent back to the translation step. Only resources assigned to a step with the Resources can reject and edit published content option enabled will be able to reject published content. Enable to choose a step from the workflow. If no results are found, that indicates there is no step before the current step you are editing.
  • Off: reverts to default behavior - rejected content is sent to the translation step.

Users can reject and edit published content

  • On: allows users to reject or update published translations, either in the Transcreation Tool or Strings View/List View (excluding Quick Edits or TM updates).
  • Off: users cannot reject or edit published strings in the Transcreation Tool or Strings View/List View (excluding Quick Edits or TM Edits). 

Enable content assignment

  • On: all content must be assigned before resources can work on it
    • Must be enabled to allow claiming (next setting)
  • Off: all content will be available for all resources to use.

Allow claiming by linguists

  • On: Translation Resource users will view and claim translation tasks in Available to Accept
    • Recommended if content assignment is off and multiple users work on the same locale in the same step.
  • Off: translation resource users will view all available work in Current Work (recommended if you prefer to assign linguists to tasks)

Allow offline work: Users can export an .xliff file of assigned content, part of Translation Memory and project Glossary.

Pre-publish strings

  • Never: strings are only published when they are submitted from the final step in the workflow.
  • On save: strings are published when the user saves the string.
  • On submit: strings are published when the users submit the translations.

Ready to Transcreate?

Create a Job with the content you want to transcreate, and choose the transcreation workflow.

Want to Access the Transcreation Tool?

Here's all you need to know about the Smartling Transcreation Tool.

 

Was this article helpful?