Translation Quality

Setting Up LQA

Linguistic Quality Assurance is the process of objectively evaluating translations on the basis of a schema of error types.

This article will help you in:

Getting Started with LQA

To start using LQA, you need to:

  1. Create an LQA Schema
    • Including the categories and error types and their descriptions with default severity of each error
  2. Assign LQA to a workflow and workflow step

Once a schema is created and published, editing is limited. You can add new categories and errors, edit them or disable any of them. Disabling them will prevent new errors from being recorded, but does not remove errors that have been recorded using them.

Accessing the LQA Schemas

  1. Click Account Settings (under your name)
  2. Choose Linguistic Quality Assurance
    • Here you will see a list of all LQA schemas on your account
    • When you create a schema, it will be in draft until you publish it/ It will then be accessible on your workflows.
    • Click the ellipses to Edit the schema name, or disable the schema entirelyScreenshot_2021-09-28_at_17.57.07.png
  3. To enter and edit any schema, click the schema name.
  4. From here, you can view the list of errors in the schema, edit or remove the errors, create a new category, and create a new error.Screenshot_2021-09-28_at_18.09.58.png

Create LQA Schemas

  1. Click Account Settings (under your name)
  2. Choose Linguistic Quality Assurance
  3. Click Create Schema
  4. Choose to create the schema via the dialog or, alternatively, use the Standard Smartling LQA Schema template
  5. If you choose to create the schema via the dialog:
    1. Enter a schema name
    2. Choose error severity format
      • Numeric and enter the severity levels from lowest to highest
      • Alternatively, enter a custom severity format and custom severity levels
    3. Click Confirm
    4. Enter the newly created schema by clicking the name
      • Now it's time to create categories and errors
    5. Click + Create Category
    6. Enter a category name and description
    7. Click save
    8. Continue to create as many categories as your schema requires
    9. When you're ready to create errors for each category, click + Create Error
    10. Choose which category the error is to be applied to (required)
    11. Enter the error name (required)
    12. Enter a description (optional)
    13. Choose a default severity level for the error (optional)
    14. Decide if reviewers should be able to amend the default severity level for the error by selecting or unselecting the checkbox
    15. Continue until all schema categories have errors
    16. By default, the schema will be in draft and unavailable to add to a workflow until the at least one category and error has been created
    17. When the schema is ready, click Publish to make it available to add to a workflow

Adding LQA to the Workflow

LQA will only be available on post translation steps. It is recommended that “Automatically submit edits by users” is “off”, and LQA is not set up on a step that can be “skipped” in a dynamic workflow.

Under Quality Assurance, select Use this step for Linguistic Quality Assurance, and select which published schema should be used from the dropdown.


Smartling recommends creating a review step explicitly for LQA purposes. 


In the above example workflow, the "Edit" and "Review" steps are not required steps. The only required step is the Translation step.

Additional Resources

For information on how translations are evaluated with LQA, read our documentation on Evaluating Translations with LQA.

For information on how to use the LQA Report, read our documentation on LQA Reporting Analysis

Was this article helpful?