Translation Workflow

Create an Idle String Rule

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers.

Idle strings are strings that have remained in a workflow step for longer than intended and are blocking the translation process. For example, a string that has been idle for two days has remained in a workflow step for two days longer than specified by the customer. 

Idle string rules are a component of dynamic workflows that prevent idle strings (and workflow steps) from becoming a bottleneck.

They do this by:

  • Sending a reminder email to users that strings are idle.
  • Submitting strings to the next workflow step after a specified number of days.
  • Sending a confirmation email after submitting the strings.

Working with idle strings
Since moving strings back to a previous workflow step can be labor-intensive, Smartling recommends setting up procedures to ensure that only idle strings which should be moved forward are affected. Consider configuring your rules to send email reminders to Account Owners and Project Managers before strings are submitted.

Add an Idle String Rule

  1. On a supported workflow step (Edit, Review, or Post-Machine Revision), click the down arrow and select Manage Step.
  2. In the dialog that appears, turn on Idle Strings.

    2019-12-05_14-52-34.png

  3. (Optional) Select Only count weekdays.
  4. Click Add New Rule.
  5. In the menu, select the Language(s) for which you want to create the rule. 
  6. In the menus, specify when to Send Reminder Email before the string is moved and when to Move String to the next step. 
  7. Under Reminder Recipients, add the email addresses of the users you want to remind. Optionally, select Send emails to Linguists assigned to step. 
  8. Click Save.

Delete an Idle String Rule

  1. On a workflow step with an idle string rule, click the down arrow and select Manage Step
  2. In the dialog that appears, under Idle Strings, do one of the following: 
    • To delete all idle string rules, turn off Idle Strings.
    • To delete a single rule, click the trash can icon. 
  3. Click Save.

 

Was this article helpful?