As part of your recurring Glossary "health-check", you can archive Glossary entries that are no longer in use. Archiving allows them to be removed from visibility in both the Glossary and the CAT Tool, but easily recoverable if the term entry comes back into use for your brand.
How to Archive an Entry
To archive an entry, click into the relevant glossary, select the entries and choose the option "Archive" from the "Actions" menu.
Please note that it is not possible to archive terms for selected languages only. Archiving an entry will archive the associated terms for all languages. If you want to archive a term, simply remove it from the term card for that specific language.
Archived Glossary entries are no longer shown in the CAT Tool during the translation process.
Archiving Glossary Entries In-Bulk
To archive Glossary entries in bulk, please follow these steps:
- Export your Glossary from Smartling
- Enter the value "TRUE" in the "Archived" column for the entries that should be archived
- Import the Glossary file back to Smartling.
Archiving entries by deleting them from your Glossary file (upon import of an exported existing Glossary) can be enabled on your account by your Customer Success Manager. Please reach out to your Customer Success Manager for more information.
Accessing Archived Glossary Entries
To view archived Glossary entries, please click into the relevant Glossary and set the "Status" filter to either "Archived" (to view only archived entries) or "All Statuses" (to view archived and active entries).
Unarchiving Glossary Entries
If you would like to restore archived entries, they can be unarchived.
To do so, please select the entries which you would like to restore and choose the option "Unarchive" from the "Actions" menu.
Once unarchived, the entries are now part of your active Glossary again and will be shown in the CAT Tool during the translation process.