Projects & Linguistic Packages

Archiving a Project

You can archive a Project that's no longer needed or in use. This will simply remove it from the Account Dashboard and Projects dropdown list (continue reading for considerations).

An archived Project is not permanently deleted and can be re-enabled at any time.

How to Archive a Project

  1. Click the Smartling logo to go to the Account Dashboard.
  2. Find the Project you wish to disable, and in the Actions column, click Archive Project to disable the Project.

Screen_Shot_2017-12-15_at_3.43.10_PM.png

  1. Confirm your selection.

How to Re-Enable an Archived Project

  1. Click the Smartling logo to go to the Account Dashboard.
  2. Click Settings and enable Always display archived Projects.
  3. Click Save.
  4. Find the Project you wish to disable, and in the Actions column, click Unarchive Project to re-enable the Project.

Screen_Shot_2017-12-15_at_3.43.14_PM.png

Considerations

Archiving a project, removes it from visibility on the Account Dashboard and Projects dropdown list. Any user can access archived projects with a direct link. Meaning, if a user has the Jobs Dashboard or an archived project bookmarked, they could still access and work on the project.

Archived projects can remain active for any number of reasons, including integrations, GDN domains that are still active, etc.

Any strings that are currently in translation will remain in translation when archiving the Project. All completed translations will be saved in the translation memory and can continue to be leveraged. To configure a new Project to leverage translations that are in an archived Project, see Configure Translation Memory Leverage.

Translator's Jobs Dashboards will still show Jobs still in progress in archived projects. The translators assigned may not even know the project is archived.

Although there may still be activity in an archived project, no event will trigger email notifications, so you may not even notice something has occurred. 

Was this article helpful?