If you need to make an update to completed translations and have them delivered back to GitHub, content must be moved back in the Smartling workflow to the In Progress state. Once the necessary edits have been made and submitted, the updated translations will be downloaded to GitHub when the Job is completed again.
Alternatively, you can edit the translations in any of the methods documented in Options for Editing Translations. Once those edits have been saved, the GitHub Connector will not manually send the updates back to GitHub (because there is no Job completion trigger), but you can manually send translations to GitHub from the GitHub Settings, by using the Export Translations button on the configuration set that contains the updated strings, as shown:
What You See In GitHub
If a completed Job goes back into progress before the translations are merged and the initial pull request is merged, then the connector will update just files that have been changed. This is seen only when the Job is re-completed. In this case, you will see a single file with multiple commits.
If the translation pull request with multiple languages has already been merged and then the job is re-opened and only one or some languages worked on, for example:
Then, you may see that only the files have changed are delivered in a new translation pull request.