How to use Smartling to Translate Content

How to Add/Remove Content in a Job

Content changes happen. Often, they happen after a translation Job is authorized and already in progress. You can add or remove content in an existing job as long as the Job is not in the closed status. Furthermore, you have options for how you can go about it, which include:

  1. Updating the source file locally, and re-uploading the file to the Job
  2. Creating a file with the new content, and uploading the additional file to the Job
  3. Adding a string via the Strings View, and requesting translation in an existing Job

If content is already contained in a job, you will be prompted to remove the content from the current job before moving it into a new job.

Adding Content

Add a File to a Job

  1. In a project, go to the Jobs Dashboard
  2. Use the search and filters to find that Job you want to add content to
  3. Enter the Job by clicking the Job name
  4. Select the Files tab to add a file
  5. Click Add File 
  6. Drag & drop or click Select files to browse for your local file storage
  7. By default, the file will be sent for translation into the languages already in the Job. If you would like the file to be translated into other languages in the project, click Select languages and choose from a dropdown list of the remaining languages in the project
  8. Click Confirm.

If you have already uploaded your new file to the Files tab, you will not be able to add the file to an existing job in the Jobs tab. You will have to add the content from the "List View" (Content > Translations).

Add a String to a Job

If you are using the Global Delivery Network and did not create your job using the Jobs tab, you'll add additional content from the List View:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations.
  2. Select the strings you want to add to the job by using the checkbox.
  3. Click on Actions > Add/Move to Job.
  4. If you're adding strings already contained in another job, click the Move to selected job checkbox.
  5. Click Add to add your content, or Cancel to exit.

If you are adding unauthorized content into an existing job, you will need to authorize the content to begin translation.

Add a Language to a Job

  1. In a project, go to the Jobs Dashboard
  2. Use the search and filters to find that Job you want to add content to
  3. Enter the Job by clicking the Job name
  4. Select the Languages tab to add a language.
  5. Click Add Languages
  6. Click the dropdown to select a new language, or select all remaining languages by clicking Select All.

Remove Content

Remove a File or Language

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Jobs.
  2. Click the name of the job for which you want to remove content.
  3. Select the Files or Languages tab.
  4. Click Remove. You'll be prompted to confirm your action.

Content removed from a job will be unauthorized, unless it has reached the published state.

Remove Strings

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations.
  2. Enter keywords to search for your job.
  3. Click the checkbox(es) of the string(s) you wish to remove from the job.
  4. Click the Actions menu and select Jobs > Remove From Job.

Strings removed from a Job via the Translations tab will not be unauthorized.

If you remove strings that have been translated but not published, the translations will be stored in your translation memory. You can configure behavior for these translations should you reauthorize the content in the future. You cannot unauthorize published content.

If you unauthorize strings that were translated and saved, but not submitted, you may be liable for the translation cost.

 

Was this article helpful?