Managing the Translation Process

Moving Content Along the Workflow

If your translations are stuck on a workflow step for a prolonged period of time, you do not have to wait for linguists to move translations along the workflow. Options include:

  1. Create an idle string rule (automated)
  2. Submit content to the next step in the workflow (manual)
  3. Move content into a different workflow (manual)
  4. Move content to the Published Step (manual)

Submit Content to the Next Step in the Workflow

  1. Do one of the following:
    • In the New Experience, select a project and click the Strings tab.
    • In the Classic Experience, go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations > In Progress.
  2. Click the checkbox for the translated strings you’d like to move along the workflow.
  3. Click Actions > Submit to Next Step.

Move Content into a Different Workflow

  1. Select a project and click the Strings tab.
  2. Select the translated strings you'd like to move. 
  3. Click the Actions menu and select Change Workflow.
  4. In the dialog that appears, under Workflow, select a workflow you want to move the content to.
  5. Under Step, select the step in which you want the content to move to in the chosen workflow.
  6. Click Move.  

Send Content to the Published Step in the Workflow

If your translated content is not in the final step in a workflow, you can bypass the remaining steps and move the content directly to the published step, as long as the strings have been translated.

  1. Select a project and click the Strings tab.
  2. Select the translated strings you'd like to publish. 
  3. Click the Actions menu and select Change Workflow.
  4. In the dialog that appears, under Workflow, select a workflow.
  5. Under Step, select Published
  6. Click Move.  

Send Content to the Published Step in the Workflow (Classic)

If your translated content is not in the final step in a workflow, you can bypass the remaining steps and move the content directly to the published step, as long as the strings have been translated.

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations > In Progress.
  2. Click the checkbox for the translated strings you’d like to publish.
  3. Click Actions Move.
  4. Select the languages for which you'd like to move the translated strings. Under Workflow Step, select Published.
  5. Click Next.
  6. Click Move selected strings for selected locales.

Move a Job to a Different Workflow (Classic)

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations.
  2. Click the drop down menu from the Search field.search.png
  3. Click the Job field to show the list of jobs in your project, and select the job(s) that you'd like to move to a new workflow. 
  4. Once the job has been selected, click the magnifying glass icon 🔍  to apply the filter and only show the job you have selected. mag.png
  5. Once the page loads with the job you selected, click Actions. Select Move All to move the job to a different workflow. The Move Strings dialog will appear.move.png
  6. Click the For the following language(s) field to select the languages that need to move to a new workflow. To move all languages, click Select All Locales.
  7. From the Workflow drop down menu, select the workflow to which you want to move the job.
  8. From the Workflow Step drop down menu, select the step in the workflow to which you want to move the job. If the job has not yet been translated, move the job to the translation step.
  9. A confirmation screen will appear showing you how many strings and words per language will be moved. To move jobs for all languages, click Move all strings for all locales.

To change the default workflow used by a project, see Set Your Default Workflow.
To customize your workflow, see Reorder Workflow Steps.
To add or assign a user to a workflow step, see Add a User to a Workflow Step.

Next, find out what to do when a Job is completed.

Was this article helpful?