Essential, Pro, and Business Editions

Additional Translation Orders

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers who are using one of the following self-service plans: Essential, Basic, Pro, or Business.

When placing additional translation orders, in most cases, you don't need to create a new project. You can just upload a new file or updated file, and place the order.

Add a New or Updated File

Smartling will automatically update your file if you have ordered it previously, and would now like to get the translation for the updated version. We'll figure out what has changed and only include new content in the order.

In fact, if you are trying to get updated translations for a file that was already processed, we strongly recommend that you upload the new version of the file into the same project. There's no need to delete the previous version or create a new project.

File Versioning

To keep your files and job orders organized, Smartling automatically versions your file uploads.

For example, if you upload a file called "Tradeshow slides.pptx" and order translations, we'll automatically track that as "version 1". If you update the file then reupload it to Smartling, we'll automatically create a new version "2". The system knows to only include the differences between version 1 and version 2 of the file for the next order. This saves you time and money for translations.

In order for versioning to work as designed, you must not change the file name between uploads. For this reason, we discourage you from putting any kind of version stamp, such as "v1" and "v2" or "2017-12-13" and "2017-12-19" in the file name before uploading it to Smartling. If you do this, and it changes from one version to the next, it will appear as a whole new file and Smartling will quote you based on a new file upload and translation order rather than on a small update.

Therefore, we do not allow you to delete files that you have uploaded. This helps us maintain the integrity of the orders over time as you make updates. Each order will reference the specific version of the file that was ordered at the time.

File versioning happens automatically when using our web-based user interface. If you're integrating with the API, you can decide whether or not to have versions by using the file namespace and URI parameters of the API. We recommend using some form of versioning to help maintain the integrity of your job orders over time.  

Add a New Language

If you need to order a new language that is not currently available in your project:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project). Next to Project Dashboard, click the gear icon and select Languages.
  2. Click Add Language and select a language. You can now resume your order and the new language will be available.
Was this article helpful?