Translation Memory

Translation Memory Management

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers. Project Managers also have access to all translation memories for all projects, and not just the projects to which they are assigned.

For now, this feature is only available to a limited number of customers. General availability will be coming soon.

Smartling facilitates the creation of new TMs and the management of existing ones. Smartling's Translation Memory Management (TMM) provides powerful search capabilities within a TM, the ability to move content between TMs, delete content, export content, as well as insight into the history of a string within a TM.

To access all of Smartling's Translation Memory Management features, log in to Smartling and go to Assets > Translation Memory. There are several actions you'll be able to take, such as:

Create a Translation Memory

Within Smartling, you can create a completely new translation memory or import a TMX file into an existing translation memory. (To apply a TM to a leverage configuration, see Configure Translation Memory Leverage.)

Import a TMX File

A TMX (Translation Memory Exchange) file is a file format used for exchanging translation memory data created by a CAT tool. This is useful if you're migrating from another tool or process, to Smartling.

To import a TMX into a translation memory, click the more icon and select Import TMX File. For more information on TMX files, see Upload a Translation Memory.

To see a list of all imported TMX files, click the View TMX Import History link.

import_TMX.png

For subsequent imports of the same TMX file, with the same naming convention, the previous TMX import will be overwritten. 

Search Within a TM

Search is based on keyword search and not fuzzy matching, as Smartling uses a different algorithm for that. You can only search within a given TM and not across all TMs.

Click on the name of a TM. There are several ways you can search or filter for a string:

  • Keywords: Source or target keyword
  • Languages: Target language
  • Linguist Action: Name of the user who last saved or authorized the string
  • Dates: Date last authorized or date that the translation was saved
  • Project: Project name
  • String Metadata: Variant, Key
  • Content Sources: File, URL

Move, Export, Delete Content

You can move content to another TM, export content from a TM, and delete content within a TM. If the same string is stored in multiple TMs, you will need to move, delete, or edit in multiple TMs. 

To move, export, or delete content, go to your list of translation memories (Assets > Translation Memory), and click the name of the relevant TM. You'll then see the Move, Export, and Delete buttons.

move.png

Move Content to Another TM

Search or filter for strings that you wish to move to another TM with the same source language, then select the strings and click Move. You'll then be prompted to select the appropriate translation memory.

Export Content From a TM

Search for strings that you wish to export from the TM, then select the strings and click Export. You can essentially export an entire translation memory or only export a portion of a TM based on specific search criteria. For example, you might search for only content that was translated in the last 6-months, and wish to export that as a TMX file. 

Delete Content Within a TM

Occasionally, you may want to pare down your translation memory to ensure that only the most appropriate content is in it. Search or filter for strings that you wish to delete from the TM, and click Delete. You'll be prompted to confirm the action.

Deleting individual strings is permanent, and will affect all projects leveraging the TM. (If you think you may want to recover this content in the future, as a workaround, you could create a TM, name it something like "Deleted Content", and then move the unwanted content to this TM.) In the future, if the same translation appears again, and is saved, it will be added back to the TM.

Delete a TM

Deleting an entire TM is permanent and will affect all projects leveraging the TM. (If you think you may want to recover this content in the future, as a workaround, you could create a TM, name it something like "Deleted Content", and then move the unwanted content to this TM.)

Find the TM that you wish to delete. Click the more icon and select Delete Translation Memory

delete_TM.png

The Delete Translation Memory dialog will appear. In this example, the TM is still being used by a linguistic package. 

delete_TM.png

If the TM is not being used by a linguistic package, you'll be prompted to confirm the deletion.

View History of a String

To view the history of a string (such as the Translator's name, completion date, project name, and the person who authorized the content), click the clock icon within the History column.

history.png

For project specific string history, use the History feature by going to Content > Translations (also referred to as the "List View").

Was this article helpful?