Managing Translation Projects

Request Translations Without a Job

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers.

Before content is translated, you'll need to authorize it. This indicates that you are approving the content to be sent through a translation workflow. 

Depending on your solution type, you may be automatically authorizing content for translation as part of your connector settings, API parameters, or job automation.

While we recommend packaging content into a Job before requesting translations for easier management, the steps below describe how to request and manage translations without a job container.

Authorize Content 

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations.
  2. Near the top of the page, click the status drop down menu and select Awaiting Authorization. A list of all new content captured in your project will appear.
  3. You have a few options for authorizing strings:
    • Individual string: Select the string and click Authorize or go to Actions > Authorize.
    • All strings in a specific URL or file: Locate the file name or URL and click Authorize Group or select multiple strings and click Actions > Authorize.
    • All strings currently awaiting authorization: Click Actions > Authorize All.

Need a cost estimate before you begin translation? Select the strings you want to translate, then click Actions > Estimate.

Partially Authorized Strings

Partially authorized strings are strings that have been authorized for one or more languages, but not for all languages in a project. To view these strings:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations
  2. In the Enter keywords search field, click the drop down arrow and select Show Partially Authorized.
  3. Click the magnifying glass to execute the search.

Any partially authorized strings will be displayed, along with their non-authorized languages. You can authorize strings in the partially authorized state to send them through the translation workflow.

Track Translation Progress

For content not contained in a job, use the Workflow Summary screen to track the progress of all content in your translation workflows (Content > Workflow).

This view will show the number of words in each workflow state:

  • Awaiting Authorization: Displays the number of words that have been captured but not yet authorized in your project.
  • Excluded: Displays the number of words that have been excluded in your project.
  • Workflows: Displays the number of words for each workflow step, by workflow.

Each number hyperlinks to the content in the workflow state you clicked. Use these links to quickly navigate the list view, and narrow in on specific content. You can also search for specific strings in your project.

Unauthorize Content

If you accidentally authorized content for translation, you can unauthorize strings. The strings are then returned to the Awaiting Authorization queue. The unauthorize action is recorded in the string's history.

To unauthorize content:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Content > Translations
  2. Near the top left corner of the screen, click the drop down arrow and select In Progress. You're basically retrieving the previously authorized content, which now resides in the In Progress queue.
  3. Select one or more strings and click Actions > Unauthorize
  4. From the Unauthorize dialog box, select the languages.
  5. Click Submit to confirm.  

If you unauthorize strings that have been translated but not published, the translations will be stored in your translation memory. You can configure behavior for these translations should you re-authorize the content in the future. You cannot uauthorize published content.

If you unauthorize strings that were translated and saved, but not submitted, you may be liable for the translation cost.

Was this article helpful?