Translating Content

Completed Jobs / Published Translations

When you have created a Job and managed the translation process, you might be wondering at what point are translations ready, and the Job is complete? This is referred to as Published translations are translations that are complete state. Translations are considered published once they reach the end of your Smartling workflow.

Screenshot_2021-08-24_at_17.09.17.png

At this point, you are ready to download translations, if they are not automatically delivered via a Connector, API, or the GDN.

There may be occasions where you want to prepublish translations, so they can be viewed on a website before they are actually complete. Learn more about prepublished translations here.

Finding Completed Translations

You can quickly find completed Jobs by using the Job Status filter in the Jobs Dashboard.

Screenshot_2021-08-24_at_16.56.33.png

You can quickly find published strings by using the Status filter in the Strings View.

Screenshot_2021-08-24_at_17.34.14.png

Closing Jobs

Once all strings in a Job have been Published, you can choose to close the Job by clicking Close Job.

Screenshot_2021-08-24_at_18.21.00.png

When a Job is closed, it becomes uneditable. This means that it is no longer possible to rename it, add or remove languages, upload files or see a Quality Confidence Score.

It is appropriate to close a completed Job if no further work should be done in it (no content should be translated as part of this job moving forward). If the strings associated with this closed Job need to be retranslated, they can still be added to other new or existing Job.

However, if there is a chance you might reject a translation or a linguist may want to revise a translation, it's best to leave a Job as complete, but not closed.

Was this article helpful?