Translation Workflow

Configure a Workflow

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers.

Translation Workflow Step

Every workflow consists of exactly one translation step, during which the initial act of transforming the source locale into the target locale is undertaken. 

Add a Workflow Step

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click to add a new step. The Add Step dialog box will appear.workflow.png
  3. Select a step type, enter a name, and set its properties.
    • Content Assignment: If set to ON, each string must be assigned to a specific translation resource. If set to OFF, any resource with access to this step can work on any string.
    • Primary Action: For revision steps, the primary action is either edit (or review). This can be used for invoicing and also affects where SmartMatched strings enter the workflow.
    • Resources can revise content: If checked, translation resources can edit the translation. Checking Automatically submit edits by resources will cause strings to proceed to the next workflow step when a translation resource saves an edit.
    • Resources can reject content to: If set, translation resources on revision steps will be able to return content to a previous step.
    • Resources can Reject and Edit Published Content: If checked, translation resources assigned to this step will also be able to edit or reject published strings from this workflow.
    • Re-publish all translation: You can choose to pre-publish translations when translations are submitted to the next workflow step, or when translations are saved.
  4. Click Save.

Pre-translation steps and Workflow Holds are special steps that pause the flow of content. Strings are held in the step until an Account Owner or Project Manager moves them forward. For example, you may want to use a pre-translation step if you know that you want to translate the content, but want to estimate costs before moving all strings into translation. A Workflow Hold can be useful before the publishing step if you want to wait until all your content is translated, and publish everything at once.

Reorder Workflow Steps

Your current workflow might look something like this:
Translation > Edit > Internal Review > Published

However, you might want to rearrange the order to: 
Translation > Internal Review > Edit > Published

To reorder workflow steps:

  1. Go go Projects (select the project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click and drag the circle to move the step to the correct position in the workflow.

workflow.png

You cannot move the Translation or Published steps, or a pre-translation Hold step. As well, when you reorder a workflow step, it's always best to inform all translation resources of the changes made.

Edit/Remove a Workflow Step

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click the drop down arrow and select Edit or Remove. See Step 3 of Add a Workflow Step for more information about the step's properties.workflow.png
  3. Click Save.

Reject Published Strings in a Workflow Step

To allow translation resources to reject published strings:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click Published > Edit.
  3. Check Resources can reject content to and select the workflow step that you want the rejected content to be returned to. Only resources assigned to a step with the Resources can reject and edit published content option enabled will be able to reject published content.
Was this article helpful?