Translation Workflow

Create and Configure a Workflow (Classic)

This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers using the Classic Experience. If you are using the New Experience, follow these steps.

Create a Workflow

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflows.
  2. Click the plus sign and select Add Project Workflow or Add Account Workflow. The Add New Workflow dialog box will appear.
  1. Enter a name for your workflow. If you have several workflows based on different workflow steps or different content, it's helpful to briefly include this information in the workflow name.
  2. From the Content Type drop down, select the type that best describes the content that will be processed through this workflow.
  3. In the Target Languages box, do one of the following:
    • For a project workflow, select all languages that this workflow will apply to. The list includes only languages that have been set up in the project. If more languages are added to the project in the future, you will be able to add them to the workflow at that time.
    • For an account workflow, select both a Source Language and a Target Language, then click Add Pair. Add as many source and target language pairs as you require.
  4. Click Save.

Translation Workflow Step

Every workflow consists of at least one translation step (during which the initial act of transforming the source locale into the target locale is undertaken) and exactly one published step, which indicates that translations are ready for use.

Add a Workflow Step 

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click to add a new step. The Add Step dialog box will appear.
    workflow.png
  3. Select a step type, enter a name, and set its properties.
    • Content Assignment: If set to ON, each string must be assigned to a specific translation resource. If set to OFF, any resource with access to this step can work on any string.
    • Primary Action: For revision steps, the primary action is either edit (or review). This can be used for invoicing and also affects where SmartMatched strings enter the workflow.
    • Skip this step if the string's TM match is: This property is applicable for the Editing or Internal Review steps, allowing you to skip either of these steps in the workflow.
    • Resources can revise content: If checked, translation resources can edit the translation. Checking Automatically submit edits by resources will cause strings to proceed to the next workflow step when a translation resource saves an edit.
    • Resources can reject content to: If set, translation resources on revision steps will be able to return content to a previous step.
    • Resources can Reject and Edit Published Content: If checked, translation resources assigned to this step will also be able to edit or reject published strings from this workflow.
    • Pre-publish all translation: You can choose to pre-publish translations when translations are submitted to the next workflow step, or when translations are saved.
  4. Click Save.

Pre-translation steps and Workflow Holds are special steps that pause the flow of content. Strings are held in the step until an Account Owner or Project Manager moves them forward. For example, you may want to use a pre-translation step if you know that you want to translate the content, but want to estimate costs before moving all strings into translation. A Workflow Hold can be useful before the publishing step if you want to wait until all your content is translated, and publish everything at once.

Customize a Translation Step (Classic)

  1. Within a project, go to Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  1. Next to the translation step of the relevant workflow, click the drop down arrow and select Edit.
    Screen_Shot_2017-11-28_at_5.13.32_PM.png
  2. In the Edit Step dialog box, select a translation method.
  3. Depending on the selected translation method, additional fields may appear. Follow the instructions below to complete them before continuing.
  4. Click Save to customize the translation step or Cancel to exit.

Reorder Workflow Steps

Your current workflow might look something like this:
Translation > Edit > Internal Review > Published

However, you might want to rearrange the order to:
Translation > Internal Review > Edit > Published

To reorder workflow steps:

  1. Go to Projects (select the project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click and drag the circle to move the step to the correct position in the workflow.

workflow.png

You cannot move the Translation or Published steps, or a pre-translation Hold step. As well, when you reorder a workflow step, it's always best to inform all translation resources of the changes made.

Edit or Remove a Workflow Step

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click the drop-down arrow and select Edit or Remove. See Step 3 of Add a Workflow Step for more information about the step's properties.

    workflow.png

    When making an edit to either the Editing or Internal Review step, you have the option to skip either step. For example, if both the Editing and Internal Review steps are skipped, translations will go directly to the published step. Skipping an Editing or Internal Review step should only be done if the original fuzzy match score in the Translation step is high enough, for example, 99-100%. However, you have the ability to select a lower match score.

    edit_step.png
    3. Click Save.

Reject Published Strings in a Workflow Step

To allow translation resources to reject published strings:

  1. Go to Projects (select a project) > Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Click Published > Edit.
  3. Check Resources can reject content to and select the workflow step that you want the rejected content to be returned to. Only resources assigned to a step with the Resources can reject and edit published content option enabled will be able to reject published content.

Copy a Workflow

  1. Within a project, go to Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Next to the workflow you wish to copy, click Copy.
  3. Enter a name for the copy of the workflow.
  4. Click Save to create a copy of the workflow or Cancel to exit.

The newly created workflow will have the same scope as the original workflow. For example, a copy of an account workflow will also be an account workflow, except if the user creating the copy is a Project Manager, in which case the newly created workflow will be a project workflow.

Creating a copy of a workflow is one way to have variations with different steps (for example, translation and editing versus translation, editing, and review) or for different translation resources. Other approaches may be easier to maintain depending on your organization's needs. Contact your Customer Success Manager for personalized guidance.

Delete a Workflow

You can delete a workflow if the following criteria have been met:

  • It is not the first workflow listed in a project, and it is not configured as a default workflow
  • No strings are in progress in the workflow (in any project, language, or state (i.e. active or inactive))
  • No resources are assigned to any of the workflow steps
  • All steps except "Translation" have been deleted from the workflow
  • If a workflow step uses copy-source-to-target method, it must be switched to human translation method
  1. Within a project, go to Project Settings > Translation Workflow.
  2. Next to the workflow you wish to delete, click Delete.
  3. Click Confirm to delete the workflow or Cancel to exit.

Was this article helpful?