Agency Project Managers

Add or Remove Linguists

This article is for Agency Account Owners and Translation Resource Managers.

You can add and remove linguists from an account.

  • Adding Translators/Editors gives them access to translate or edit content for the workflow steps they've been assigned.
  • Removing Translators/Editors from a workflow step means that they will no longer have access to their assigned workflow tasks.

This article covers how to add linguists in two steps:

  1. Step 1: Invite them to Smartling
  2. Step 2: Assign them to workflow step tasks

Also included is 

Contact a Smartling Representative about giving users two roles.

Add a Linguist

Step 1: Invite them to Smartling

  1. Go to Projects Dashboard (select a project) > View Project > Team > People.
  2. Click Add User.
  3. Click on the appropriate user role and enter the email address of the new user.
  4. Click Confirm.

Step 2: Assign them to workflow step tasks

Immediately after adding the user to the account, you must assign the linguists their languages and workflow step tasks. The linguists invitation email will not be sent until this step is complete.

  1. Click Add Assignment.
  2. Select a language they should be assigned to, a workflow, and a step.
  3. Click Add Assignment. Add more workflow assignments if the user needs access to multiple workflows or steps.
  4. Click Save Changes or Cancel to exit.

An invitation email will then be sent to the linguist once you've added the user to a workflow assignment. If they've already registered with Smartling, they will be invited to work on the specific account.  

Screenshot_2021-08-19_at_16.16.08.png

If you need to give the same linguists access to two accounts for two different functions (i.e. to translate in one and project manage in another), read our documentation on giving users two roles for two accounts.

Manage Invitations

You will know if the user has not yet activated their account if their user tile details "User Invited". This will update to the user's name once they have completed registration.

  • Click Resend Invite to re-deliver an email invitation to the new user.
  • Click Cancel Invite to remove it from your account and prevent any delivered invitations from being used.
  • Learn how to change a user's role here.

Remove a User

  1. Go to Projects Dashboard (select a project) > View Project > Team > People.
  2. Click the user's name for which you'd like to remove from a workflow step or account access.
  3. Under Workflow Assignments, check all of the workflow assignments that you wish to remove the user from.
  4. Click Remove Assignment.
  5. If you want to remove the user from the account, make sure that all workflow assignments are removed, and in the upper-right corner of the screen, click Remove User.

Was this article helpful?