Change Translations and Redownload
This article is for Account Owners and Project Managers.
If you updated a previously translated file, either with new strings or with edits to existing strings, you can send the updated file back to translation resources. What is captured by Smartling is the new/updated content, and only those strings will be translated.
Here are some steps to follow for Files Projects:
- Upload your changed resource files: You can either use the same filename and replace the existing file, in which case the file will have the same namespace and will share strings with previous versions. New strings will only be created for the content you have changed. Or, you can upload the file to a new namespace. All new strings will be created, however, as long as you have set up SmartMatch, you still only need to worry about the changes.
- Authorize the content for translation: New strings will either be automatically authorized into your default workflow for each language or be added to your authorization queue.
- Download the translated files: Once Translators and Reviewers finish translating or editing the strings, and the content is published, you can download the newly translated files.
There are many opportunities to automate parts of the process described above. API automation or our Repository Connector can easily transfer files to and from Smartling, or you can use Job Automation to automatically create jobs in Smartling.